Please take this opportunity to take a short Citizens' Opinion Survey on Highways in Arkansas. Your opinion matters!

Arkansas Good Roads Transportation Council was officially incorporated in 1975 with a grant from the Arkansas State Chamber of Commerce and the Associated Industries of Arkansas. The first president of Arkansas Good Roads was Dr. Silas Snow, who summed up the organization’s purpose by stating that Good Roads’ purpose was, “…to increase highway safety and provide a statewide information service concerning transportation matters.”

To these ends, the Arkansas Good Roads Foundation worked directly with the Move Arkansas Forward Committee to successfully pass temporary funding initiatives for Interstate rehabilitation and continued construction on Arkansas’s four-lane highway system. In the 2011 special election campaign to authorize the Arkansas Highway Commission to re-issue bonds for the financing of Interstate rehabilitation, over 80 percent of Arkansas voters agreed with Good Roads’ position to pass the issue. And in 2012, over 58 percent of Arkansas voters agreed to temporarily increase their own general sales tax by ½-cent to help fund statewide highway improvements. Through research, communication and education, Good Roads was instrumental in these successes at the polls.

Best Association Management
Office: 501-224-4840

D.B. Hill, III – Little Rock
Stanley Hill - Little Rock

Don House - Walnut Ridge
Judge David Hudson - Fort Smith

Jerry Hunton - Prairie Grove
Mark Lamberth - Batesville
Judge Michael Lincoln - Searcy
Shelly Loe - Arkadelphia
Jeff Lynch - Heber Springs
Clay McGeorge - Little Rock
Mayor David Morris - Searcy
Bob Myers - Fordyce

Shannon Newton - Little Rock
Mayor Harold Perrin - Jonesboro
Mat Pitsch - Fort Smith
Bill J. Reed - Stuttgart
Judge Kevin Smith - Nashville
Mayor Doug Sprouse - Springdale
Max Tackett - Nashville
Steve Thweatt - Hot Springs
Mayor Tab Townsell - Conway

Dick Trammel - Rogers
Guy Washburn - Little Rock
Don L. Weaver - El Paso
Jim Wooten – Beebe

To collect and disseminate better methods of road building and maintenance

About the Arkansas Good Roads Foundation

Arkansas Good Roads traces its roots as an organization to 1896 when then-Governor James P. Clarke scheduled a Good Roads Convention in Little Rock. Over 200 delegates from 44 counties attended the convention, appointing a committee that founded “The Good Roads League of the State of Arkansas.” Dr. A.C. Millar, then President of Hendrix College, was selected as Chairman of the League.

Members of Arkansas Good Roads receive our magazine, Good Roads. Each issue focuses on Arkansas’ transportation network and the Foundation's meetings and events. The current issue is also available as a downloadable PDF.

​​The League adopted five basic goals:

To encourage state and federal legislation favoring road improvements, especially on farm-to-market roads

The Arkansas Good Roads /Transportation Council was established in 1975 as a 501(c)(3) non-profit, tax-exempt and tax-deductible organization. In 2015, the council was re-established and re-branded as a foundation in order to be a more visible and credible voice on behalf of the mission of the Arkansas Highway and Transportation Department and the Arkansas Highway Commission.

The purpose of the Foundation is to promote adequate funding and financing for the planning, development, construction and maintenance of a safe and efficient highway, road, street and bridge system that facilitates statewide economic growth, thus increasing private-sector job creation and retention.  With your help, our success in this purpose can help ensure the following results:

To publish material necessary and useful in promoting the movement

Don Beavers - Hot Springs

Harold Beaver - Rogers
Stephen Bell - Arkadelphia
Johnnie Bolin - Crossett
Jack Buffington - Rogers
Sandra Burke - Forrest City
Brent Burwell - Oklahoma City
Shawnie Carrier - Arkadelphia
Ann Cash - McGehee
Benson Cashion - Little Rock
Steve Clark - Fayetteville
Mayor Chris Claybaker - Camden
Ken Cowling - Ashdown
Bob Crafton - Rogers
L.M. Duncan - Jonesboro

Joe Fakouri - Monticello
Dan Flowers - North Little Rock
Wes Fowler - Huntsville
Jim Fram - Hot Springs
Bobby Glover - Carlisle
Curt Green - Texarkana
Nick Haynes - Memphis
Richard Hedgecock - Little Rock
"Prissy" Hickerson – Texarkana

Arkansas Good Roads Magazine  |  Fall 2017

To promote the formation of a five-member committee in each county to organize local activities for road improvement


To stimulate general interest in improved public roads

Members of the Executive Committee are highlighted in bold.

• More private-sector jobs
• Safer motor vehicle travel
• Reduced congestion
• Easier access to Arkansas businesses and industries
• Increased consumer activity
• Savings on vehicle and fleet maintenance cost
• Enhanced tourism and economic development
• Efficient connectivity among all regions of Arkansas

Executive Officers

Jim Wooten, President - Beebe

D. B. Hill III, Vice-President - Little Rock

Bob Crafton, Secretary/Treasurer - Rogers

The Arkansas Good Roads Foundation Board of Directors includes representatives from each of the 10 Arkansas Highway Commission districts. The organization’s Executive Committee includes the Arkansas Good Roads Foundation Executive Director, and several Board members including three who are elected annually to serve as executive officers.